Have you ever immediately regretted deleting the Instagram post from your feed? And felt the need of a ‘Trash’ folder? Seems Instagram heard you as recently they have added a new folder called ‘Recently Deleted Folder’ which will allow users to restore any feed posts that they have deleted.
All the content sent to the Recently Deleted Folder will be automatically deleted after 30 days, except for stories which will remain in the folder only for 24 hours from the time they were posted.
As shared by Instagram, “Now, for the first time, you can review and restore deleted content in the Instagram app. Photos, videos, reels, IGTV videos and stories you choose to delete are removed from your account immediately and moved to the Recently Deleted folder.”
The deleted folder will include content like:
- Photos and videos from your profile
- Your photos and videos of Instagram story
- Instagram stories from your story archive and highlights
- Direct messages
So, within those 30 days whenever you wish to review what all you have deleted you can access the folder by going to Settings > Account > Recently Deleted. But, before you rely on Recently Deleted Folder and start deleting your photos and videos make sure your Instagram app is updated to the latest version.
Apart from just allowing you to restore any mistakenly deleted content, this feature can protect users’ content in the event of accounts getting hacked. Instagram noted that many people whose accounts get hacked end up with no content on their feed, with no option to recover it. Instagram said, “We know hackers sometimes delete content when they gain access to an account, and until now people had no way of easily getting their photos and videos back.”
Apart from Recently Deleted Folder, IG is introducing safeguards against permanently deleting content. Users have to prove they own the account before they can either delete or restore content from the Recently Deleted Folder. In this context IG said, “Starting February 2nd, we will ask people to first verify that they are the rightful account holders when permanently deleting or restoring content from Recently Deleted.”
According to Instagram users always requested for a feature like Recently Deleted Folder. That is interesting because a similar feature in the form of Archive always existed. So, instead of deleting your photos and videos you can any time move them to archive to remove them from your feed. Besides, there is no time limit that for how long you can keep your posts in archive.
So, now it is up to you that which option you would like to choose.